Prof. Anurag Kumar

anurag-kumarProfessor Anurag Kumar is the current Director of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Anurag Kumar is an alumnus of Indian Institute of Technology at Kanpur wherein he obtained his B.Tech. degree in Electrical Engineering in 1977, and was awarded the President of India’s Gold Medal. He earned his PhD degree from Cornell University (1981), where he worked under the guidance of Prof. T.L. Fine. He was a Member of Technical Staff at AT&T Bell Labs, Holmdel, N.J., for over 6 years. During this period he worked on the performance analysis of computer systems, communication networks, and manufacturing systems. Since 1988 he has been with the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, in the Department of Electrical Communication Engineering (ECE) as a Professor. From 2000 to 2004 he was the Associate Chair of the ECE Department, from 2004 to 2007 he was the Chair of the ECE Department, and from 2007 to 2014 he was the Chair of Electrical Sciences Division. From 1989 to 2003 he was also the Coordinator at IISc of the nationwide Education and Research Network (ERNET) Project, which established the first country-wide packet communication network in India. He has served as an Area Editor for IEEE Transactions on Networking, and for IEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials.

He has been elected a Fellow of the IEEE, a Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), a Fellow of the Indian Academy of Science(IASc), a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), and a Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). He received the IISc Alumni Award for Excellence in Engineering Research for 2008. He has been awarded the DST J.C. Bose National Fellowship for the period 2011-2016. He is the recipient of the ACCS-CDAC Foundation Award for 2009.

  • ADCOM 2014 Keynote Presentation