Dr. Ajay Kumar

Dr. Ajay Kumar is a member of Indian Administrative Service (1985 Kerala batch).

PhD, Business Administration, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota, USA.

M.S.Applied Economics, University of Minnesota, USA

B.Tech. Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India.


Job Profile

Secretary, Defence Production, Ministry of Defence, Government of India

Additional Secretary, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Government of India (Aug 2015 – November 2017) (Also Chief Vigilance Officer for the Ministry)

As the Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology, Government of India, he is responsible for coordinating the Digital India programme. This includes coordinating with concerned Ministries/State Governments/agencies in public and private sector for development of policies/frameworks and implementation of projects for three key pillars of Digital India: namely, Digital infrastructure, provision of Digital Services; and Digital empowerment of society.

Is also coordinating the promotion of Electronic Design and Manufacturing Industry in the country. Has also initiated several programmes to develop and promote innovation in Electronics and ICT sector.

Dr. Kumar is also looking after Cyber Security related matters including India CERT. Is also responsible for administration of IT Act and Rules in the country.


Publications and Awards

Have several publications in refereed national and international journals.

Foundation Day Lecture at Central University of Kerala, 2017

IESA-Technovation Awards 2015 Technovation Sarabhai Award Winner for outstanding contribution to ESDM Industry and its Ecosystem.

“Electronics Leader of the Year” for the year 2012: for promotion of electronics industry in the country.

Graduate School Fellowship by the University of Minnesota, USA, 2004 and 2005

“Silver Elephant” medallion by National Scouts and Guides by His Excellency the President of India, 1994.

Citation by the Honarable Prime Minister of India, 1994.

“Outstanding Young Person” by the Junior Chamber of Kerala, 1994.